Wen - Structurally Sound: Seven Musical Masterworks Deconstructed [Dov:0486806774]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Music theorist Eric Wen presents in-depth analyses of seven masterworks from the common-practice period of Western art music:

  • Bach: Air from Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D, BWV 1068 
  • Mendelssohn: Andante con moto tranquillo from Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49 
  • Schubert: Nacht und Traüme, D. 827 
  • Haydn: Adagio — Vivace assai from Symphony No. 94 in G, Hob. I:94 
  • Mozart: Molto Allegro from Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550 
  • Beethoven: Marcia funebre: Adagio assai from Symphony No. 3 in E-flat, Op. 55 
  • Brahms: Un poco presto e con sentimento from Violin Sonata No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108

Wen employs the analytic approach developed by Heinrich Schenker, a method that uses musical notation to clarify and illuminate a work's structural hierarchies. Copiously illustrated with analytic musical examples that elucidate the tonal organization of each of the seven works, this study also explores aspects of form, rhythmic organization, and programmatic meaning.
This volume will be of particular interest to musicologists and professional musicians, and it will also appeal to listeners keen to probe the rich complexities of these masterpieces.

ISBN 10 0486806774
ISBN 13 9780486806778
Author/Editor Eric Wen
Page Count 320
Dimensions 8 1/4 x 11