Chopin, Piano Concerto No.1 In E Minor Op.11 (Ekier) [HL:00132236]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Piano Concerto No.1 In E Minor Op.11.

Chopin National Edition 30B, Vol. VIa
Series: PWM
Publisher: PWM Edition
Format: Softcover
Composer: Frederic Chopin
Editor: Jan Ekier

Though the Op. 11 concerto is called Concerto No. 1, it was written after what was later known as Concerto No. 2. One piano plays the solo part; the other plays the piano reduction of the orchestra. The piece is also available in other Urtext National Editions. 00132235 is version for one piano. 00132233 is the full score. 00132234 is a historical version of the full score.
Published by PWM
Exclusively Distributed by Hal Leonard Corporation
Co-Editors: Jan Ekier and Pawel Kaminski

The objective of the National Edition is to present Chopin's complete output in its authentic form, based on the entire body of available sources. Sources were analyzed with up-to-date scientific and musicological methodology.

The National Edition was based on sources originated from the composer, mainly autographs, copies of autographs and first editions with the composer's corrections, and pupils' copies with Chopin's annotations. In cases when original sources were lacking, the closest possible materials were used. Collecting the source materials was a laborious task which took years of effort.

The characteristics of sources, the links and discrepancies between them as well as the reasons for particular editorial decisions are discussed in the Source Commentary in each volume.

The Performance Commentary appended to each volume includes: the realization of ornaments, comments on pedal markings (the original markings sometimes are inadequate, due to the difference in sound between pianos used in Chopin`s times and modern pianos), suggestions as to the “harmonic legato” (a performance technique often used by Chopin and now forgotten)
ISBN: 9788389003508
UPC: 884088970703
Publisher Code: 51600007
Width: 9.25"
Length: 12.0"
140 pages.