Loading... Please wait...

Browse By Category

Our Newsletter

* indicates required

Are you a Teacher?

Nielsen, Fantasy Pieces Op. 2 [HL:51481131]



Usually ships within several days. Check item description to see if this is a Print on Demand item.

Although a wide variety of items is always in the store, an item's presence on the site does not guarantee it to be in stock at the moment.

Item Description:

Fantasy Pieces Op. 2
Oboe and Piano

Composer: Carl Nielsen 
Publisher: Henle 
Editor: Christin Heitmann

Carl Nielsen's Fantasy Pieces for Oboe and Piano were composed in 1889/90. Having just gained a position as a violinist in the Royal Danish Orchestra, Nielsen had already experienced success with his String Suite Op. 1 both as a composer and as a conductor. Several sketches and autographs bear witness to his intensive work on these contrasting pieces for oboe, which were to appear in 1890 as his Opus 2. The two movements, Romance and Humoreske, are dedicated to the oboist Olivo Krause who played in the royal orchestra. His beautiful tone and virtuosic technique probably played no small part in the fact that these miniatures by the “young, talented composer” took the public and critics by storm at their first performance in March 1891.

$18.95 (US)
Inventory # HL51481131
UPC: 888680612573
Series: Henle Music Folios
Format: Softcover
Publisher Code: HN1131
Width: 9.25"
Length: 12.25"
16 pages

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

United States Dollar
European Union Euro

You Recently Viewed...