Dvorak, Violin Concerto in a minor, Op. 53 [HL:51481597]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Violin Concerto

A minor Op. 53

Violin and Piano

Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Composer: Antonin Dvorak
Arranger: Johannes Umbreit
Editor: Peter Jost

Dvorák composed this concerto at his publisher's suggestion. He drafted it relatively swiftly in summer 1879, but completing it was a more drawn-out process that lasted until 1882. He had the famous violinist Joseph Joachim look over the violin part, and also dedicated the concerto to him. But Joachim's suggestions resulted in numerous reworkings, and he ultimately lost interest in the work. As a result, the world premiere was given by the Czech violinist Frantisek Ondrícek. This formally unusual work begins and ends with a sonata rondo, and adopts a Slavic tone throughout. After a lyrical middle movementit closes with lively Czech dance rhythms. This Urtext edition draws on both the autograph and on the first editions of the score, solo part and piano reduction. The solo parthas been marked up by one of the concerto's most knowledgeable exponents, world-famous violinist Augustin Hadelich.

Inventory # HL51481597
UPC: 196288148753
Series: Henle Music Folios
Format: Softcover
Publisher Code: HN1597
Width: 9.25"
Length: 12.25"
96 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice. Usually ships in 1-5 business days depending on stock levels. Contact us for a more specific time estimate.