Händel, Complete Sonatas for Oboe and Basso continuo[BAR:BA4260]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Händel, Georg Friedrich
Complete Sonatas for Oboe and Basso continuo
- Authoritative edition based on the reliable Urtext of the Halle Handel Edition
- Performance practice tips (English/German)
- Score with two oboe/basso continuo parts
- Introduction (English/German)
Edition no.
BA 4260

Volume / Series
Best, Terence
Instrumentation of the work
Oboe, Basso continuo
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Score, Part, Urtext edition, Anthology
Oboe, Basso continuo
Pages / Format
VI, 12/8/8 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm

Handel’s sonatas for one solo instrument and basso continuo are some of the finest examples found in the genre. The three oboe sonatas found in our new edition are prime examples of this.

The Urtext of the Halle Handel Complete Edition forms the basis for the new publication. As a scholarly critical edition it is concerned with the authentic sonatas written by Handel and not those often found in other collections which are either transcriptions of works originally composed for other instruments (e. g. the F major sonata which is often found in G major) or spurious compositions. All editorial additions are clearly indicated and as such players have a solid basis for rendering performances true to the composer's intentions. The publication includes an informative historical as well as performance practice introduction by the noted Handel scholar Terence Best. It contains a score and two oboe/basso continuo parts.

All of this adds up to a sure winner for oboists.