Haydn, Symphony in E-Flat Major, Hob. I:103 Study Score[HL:51489071]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Symphony in E-Flat Major, Hob. I:103
Study Score

Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Study Score
Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn

The twelve “London Symphonies” comprise the sublime final statement of Haydn's symphonic oeuvre. They were written for the London impresario Johann Peter Salomon, and Haydn himself conducted their premieres during his lengthy stays in the English metropolis in 1791/92 and 1794/95. The E-flat-major Symphony no. 103 was composed in 1795 as the penultimate of the London Symphonies. It owes its epithet to its unique beginning; a solo drumroll in the timpani ushers in the slow introduction. This opening bar, marked with Haydn's heading “Intrada” and a pause, even inspires many a performer to venture a short timpani improvisation. This study edition adopts the musical text of the Haydn Complete Edition, thereby guaranteeing the highest scholarly quality. An informative preface and a brief Critical Report make the handy score an ideal companion for all current and soon-to-be Haydn fans.

Inventory # HL51489071
UPC: 840126989397
Series: Henle Music Folios
Format: Softcover
Publisher Code: HN9071
Width: 6.75"
Length: 9.5"

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.