Skip to main content

Prokofiev: Visions Fugitives, Op. 22 Authenic Edition[P]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Composer: Sergei Prokofieff
Editor: F.H. Schneider

Introduction and performance notes by Peter Donohoe.

$27.99 (US)
Inventory # HL48011127
UPC: 073999287974
Series: BH Piano
Publisher Code: M060081781
Width: 9.25"
Length: 12.25"

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

A piano repertoire classic published in the Russian Piano Classics series. Authoritative editions, beautifully produced with introductions and performance notes by Peter Donohoe and distinctive art covers.

During the revolutionary months of 1917, Prokofieff protected himself from the world and composed prolifically. This was the time when he wrote the evergreen Classical Symphony, and this cycle of haunting piano miniatures, which Prokofieff himself called in Russian Things that fly past. Each short movement is highly distinctive, painted in brightly contrasted colours and in a way that cries out for orchestral interpretation. In taking up that challenge and making this new version, the late Walter Susskind, a conductor renowned for the range and depth of his experience of different orchestral idioms, created a fine and unusual addition to the repertoire.

Note by Gerard McBurney